Musing Mondays: 10th February 2014

Monday Musings

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a bookish meme created by MizB of the blog Should Be Reading. This is a weekly event which gently encourages us all to think about our interactions with books and our feelings towards them. Anyone can join in, so let’s have some fun!

What to Do:

  • Describe one of your reading habits.
  • Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
  • What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on and why?
  • Tell us what you’re reading right now, what you think of it so far, why you chose it and what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying about it.
  • Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it!
  • Leave a comment on MizB’s Musing Mondays post (here) and include a link to your post.

My Musing:

I like to read at least one chapter of my current book each night, just before I go to sleep. Sometimes I can’t stop with one chapter and end up reading far too long and going to sleep way too late.

I haven’t been able to buy many books lately, but the most recent one was Damia by Anne McCaffrey. I have read it before when I was a teenager, but started re-reading the series and Damia was the next consecutive book, number 2 in the Talent Series.

The book I am currently desperate to obtain is Lyon’s Pride by Anne McCaffrey since it is number 4 in the Talent Series, which I am part of the way through reading.

Damias Children

Damia’s Children by Anne McCaffrey

At present I am reading Damia’s Children, book number 3 in the series by Anne McCaffrey which I actually bought last Summer. I wanted to read all the books in order though, so had to wait until I got the first two and read them. I have read this before, but it’s nice to revisit something from my youth. I really enjoy the portrayal of characters in this series and find that is something Anne McCaffrey is very talented with. There are probably flaws with the writing as many reviewers have mentioned, but I get too caught up in the engrossing story to really notice. The story flows so nicely and I think it holds wide appeal – I enjoyed it as a youngster and experience that enjoyment once more as an adult.

L.A. Miles

www.Goodreads.com
Latest Book: The Stone Dragon

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: 10th February 2014

  1. Welcome! I haven’t read this author, but I love the cover and blurb. A couple of years ago, I read some books that I had read as a child and young adult…and was so disappointed in many things about the writing style. But I did find a few things that I had loved then…and loved again. Enjoy the journey!

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

Leave a Reply

