Musing Mondays: 3rd March 2014

Monday Musings

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a bookish meme created by MizB of the blog Should Be Reading. This is a weekly event which gently encourages us all to think about our interactions with books and our feelings towards them. Anyone can join in, so let’s have some fun!

What to Do:

  • Describe one of your reading habits.
  • Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
  • What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on and why?
  • Tell us what you’re reading right now, what you think of it so far, why you chose it and what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying about it.
  • Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it!
  • Leave a comment on MizB’s Musing Mondays post (here) and include a link to your post.

My Musing:

I sometimes find it hard to concentrate on reading a book when the TV is on. A bit awkward when my husband wants to watch something when I am reading.

I haven’t been able to buy many books lately, but the most recent one was Lyon’s Pride by Anne McCaffrey. I have read it before when I was a teenager, but started re-reading the series and this was the last book I needed, number 4 in the 5 book Tower and Hive Series.

The book I am currently desperate to obtain is Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, the first book in its series, since my husband kindly bought the third book for my Christmas.

The Tower and the Hive

The Tower and the Hive by Anne McCaffrey

At present I am reading The Tower and the Hive, the last book in the series of the same name by Anne McCaffrey. My husband bought me this for my Christmas too, but I wanted to read all the books in order, so had to wait until I got the first four and read them. I have read this book before many years ago, but it’s nice to refresh my memory. Of all the book in this series, for some reason this is the one I remember the least about. I can’t actually recall how the book ends, so it has a nice feeling of both familiarity and unpredictability as I re-read it.

L.A. Miles
Goodreads Author
Latest Book: The Stone Dragon

6 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: 3rd March 2014

  1. I’ve developed the skill of being able to tune out almost anything going on around me when I read–including the TV! But I do have friends who need total quiet when they’re reading. To each his/her own!

  2. I can’t read with the TV noise in the background either. Therefore I have my own little reading corner in the bedroom where I go to read in peace and quiet. I too, like to read a series in the order they were written. Have a nice week.

Leave a Reply

