Musing Mondays: 14th April 2014

Monday Musings

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a bookish meme created by MizB of the blog Should Be Reading. This is a weekly event which gently encourages us all to think about our interactions with books and our feelings towards them. Anyone can join in, so let’s have some fun!

What to Do:

  • Describe one of your reading habits.
  • Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
  • What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on and why?
  • Tell us what you’re reading right now, what you think of it so far, why you chose it and what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying about it.
  • Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it!
  • Leave a comment on MizB’s Musing Mondays post (here) and include a link to your post.

My Musing:

Unfortunately I have recently had an inner ear infection, which made reading rather difficult (due to the dizzy spells). So reading has sort of taken a back shelf and I have spent most of my time sleeping, thanks to the antibiotics! So my musing this week is going to be about books in general.

My all-time favourite book:
It’s still The Lord of the Rings, after twenty years. I’ve lost count of how many times I have read it. A close second is probably The Hobbit. My Husband bought me the second film instalment last week and I have been so looking forward to watching it. We saw it in the cinema, but this world dreamed up by J.R.R. Tolkien captured my youthful imagination and has never let go!

The book that always cheers me up:
This one is actually joint. I would either read The Redemption of Althalus by David Eddings or No One Noticed the Cat by  Anne McCaffrey. Both have some wonderfully humorous elements that bring me right out of the doldrums. The reason I chose two here is that the former is a very long book and the latter is a very short book, so it would depend on how much time I had for reading.

One book I would never part with:
This has to be The Voyage of the Dawntreader by C.S. Lewis. Presented to me by my primary school at the age of seven, my copy has been read a lot, features a personalised inscription and was probably the first book I read that really fired my imagination.

I would also like to just cheekily mention that my own book is now available for purchase via Amazon for the Kindle or in paperback format.

The Stone DragonThe Stone Dragon by L.A. Miles

The noble Order of Adventure Seekers had a secret. Rathezar was real. The memory of him had become nothing more than a way to scare naughty children. But the free lands would soon find out just how tangible a threat the demonic Rathezar posed. Propelled into the midst of the situation, Jadwhin Kanid had a past, present and future swathed in secrets. Earning the trust of Adventure Seekers would help resolve his deepest longing – to become one of them.

L.A. Miles
Goodreads Author
Latest Book: The Stone Dragon

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: 14th April 2014

    • Thank you. If you do decide to read it, I would appreciate any honest feedback/critique. Similar taste, interesting – do you have any must-read suggestions?

Leave a Reply

