The Friday 56: 23rd May 2014

Rules:

Grab a book, any book.
Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
Find a sentence (or few) that grabs you.
Post it. (Try to avoid spoilers)
Add your (url) post below in comments. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

My Friday 56 this week is from the book I am currently reading. A childhood favourite, Howl’s Moving Castle has so much character and imagination that any reader will enjoy it – no matter their age!

“I don’t understand,” Sophie told the human skull. Then, because the fire looked almost out, she went and put on a couple of logs and raked away some of the ash.

Green Flames climbed between the logs, small and curly, and shot up into a long blue face with flaming green hair. “Good morning,” said the fire demon. “Don’t forget we have a bargain.”

L.A. Miles
www.Goodreads.com
Latest Book: The Stone Dragon

18 thoughts on “The Friday 56: 23rd May 2014

  1. I just read and reviewed this one! I’ve been on a massive ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ journey this last month. I think by now I’ve seen the movie at least 6 times and read the book! Although they’re very different, do you enjoy both the film and the book or do you have a favourite? Also, I love Calcifer, he’s such a sweetheart deep down! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday Memes
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • I enjoy both, but think I prefer the book simply because I was so young when I read it (about 7, I think) and I didn’t see the film until I was 26! Happy weekend 🙂

  2. Following from The Friday 56.

    Y’know, Hamlet talked to a skull too; granted, it did not have a resident fire demon, but it didn’t turn out to well for him. TBR’d on GoodReads.

Leave a Reply

