The Friday 56: 23rd January 2015

Friday 56Rules:

Grab a book, any book.
Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
Find a sentence (or few) that grabs you.
Post it. (Try to avoid spoilers)
Add your (url) post below in comments. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

Well after a long break since Christmas, I’m back taking part in the Friday 56! I have currently got a lot of my books packed away in storage, so am relying on my Kindle for most of my reading. I did get one book given to me for Christmas, which I am saving for a rainy day!

I’ve just finished reading A Heartless Design by Elizabeth Cole, which was a free Kindle book. I haven’t read a romance novel for years and years, so it was quite nostalgic.

The plot is more interesting than some of the historical romance novels which seem to lack a gripping tale. I enjoyed the intrigue quality to this story, although it was perhaps quite predictable. There were some editing errors throughout, but in all it was a good read for a free book (not too short either).

My main gripe with this book is that the person running the Zodiac spy ring is code-named the Astronomer, when I feel that surely the Astrologer would make more sense!


FRIDAY 56:

Her heart skipped. “There’s more?”
“As much as you want,” he assured her. All he knew was that he was far from finished with this beauty. Satisfied, yes. Finished? Not a chance.

BOOK BEGINNINGS:

The steel clad ship gleamed silver in the bright marine sunlight, its own brilliance rivalling that of the flashing sea. It was like staring into the depths of a diamond. And, like a diamond, the ship itself was nearly indestructible. The sails, white as summer clouds, billowed in the winds, an old technology still essential in this new age of innovation.

L.A. Miles
Goodreads page
Latest Book: The Stone Dragon

6 thoughts on “The Friday 56: 23rd January 2015

  1. I like the description in the book’s opening, as well as the glimpse into the man’s mind in the Friday 56 excerpt. This sounds like a romance I’d enjoy.

    When posting on my own blog, I struggle with whether or not to reveal that a book has errors in it. It’s rare to find one that is error-free, but if there are too many, I’m turned off and don’t feel comfortable promoting it. But not everyone is bothered by missing words, misused words, punctuation errors, etc., to the extent that I am.

    My Friday post features FINDING SOUTHERN COMFORT.

    • Generally it is something I tend to disregard as well, unless it causes confusion or the errors are frequent and glaringly obvious. It was a free book, so I didn’t have high expectations – but I have to say it surpassed them in most aspects.

Leave a Reply

